Purrcy’s Sunday Scoop – Many Goodbyes, New Arrivals, and Torti-tude

10640991_832131603536811_1271701836962398581_nYep…Sunday Morning and here I am, Purrcy… with this week’s edition of Purrcy’s Sunday Scoop…………

I have some very sad news to share this morning. I know that many of you remember little Alf…He came to us many months ago. When he arrived at the shelter it was obvious he had some serious health problems, Mega-colon to be exact…. We were told that this could possibly be corrected with surgery when Alf got older, but in the meantime it would take a lot of love, care and special nutrition to get him to that point.

alf1

Becca giving Alf daily sitz baths as part of his therapy.

He was doing really well on his special diet and medication, he felt better and was so playful all this time, as many a volunteer will attest to as they would have to wrangle with him during his kennel cleaning. He suddenly took a turn for the worse on July 29th and was taken to his veterinarian. Through her examination Dr. Kam explained about all the scar tissue that had built up in his colon making his condition very serious, and surgery may be the only resort, but in her heart she knew he would not survive the surgery.

A very hard decision had to be made by us, to let him pass peacefully without suffering, even though it broke our hearts and selfishly we did not want to let him go. On Friday 7/31 we said goodbye to little Alf.

The one thing I have learned since my rescue and my time living here at the sanctuary…there are so many wonderful rewarding times when adoptions take place, but the pain of losing one of our precious little lives is sometimes more than we think we can bare, but our wonderful volunteers keep on rescuing, while never forgetting those lost.

11825981_854004741349497_3054103790464683547_nR.I.P little Alf.

Last Thursday we were very fortunate to have 36 of our cats and kittens go on a transport to the Seattle Humane Society in Seattle. They are having a really big adoption event this weekend and opened their doors for our cats to join in the event. Last Wednesday Becca was busy getting carriers and paper work in order, I was examining all the carriers to make sure they were clean and put together properly.

11811347_854015188015119_808483647484877200_n11836634_854016548014983_194711191934561364_nCan’t you just see it now, without my help, 36 cats loose and jumping around while Susan is trying to navigate through traffic. My responsibilities are so varied and critically important, I just can’t express it, I keep telling Becca that this place would totally fall apart without my efforts…she just rolls her eyes and pats me on the head. Anyway, where was I…oh yes…Susan has loading her car down to a science, yes she will squeeze them all in…and because of my critical examination of the carriers (and the little goodies I smuggle into each one to keep the kitties entertained)…everyone will be cozy and safe.

11811411_854020014681303_5481705116693557872_nLook what came through our doors the other day, yes two little, itty-bitty kittens. They are now with Helen, one of our foster moms. Oh boy is she going to have a lot of sleepless nights as they need to be fed every 2 hours around the clock!

11866272_854029351347036_175337696409186952_nNo way is Becca ever going to get me to care for orphaned kittens…if I don’t have my 20 hours of beauty sleep every day, I’m a total mess. I have alot of respect for people who foster. They are all heroes!

One of our volunteers is moving, far, far away so she will not be able to continue to volunteer. I know she is going to miss us, I will miss her telling me how handsome I am. I will miss you…you know who you are!

11831794_854037321346239_7420291136074915624_nI am now babysitting Scarlett. She has been at the sanctuary for a very long time because she is so hard to get along with (it’s what we cats refer to as Torti-tude, she has it bad). She does like me though (naturally) so I am letting her follow me around. Becca thought I would be such a great influence on her, who knows… maybe I can sweeten her personality.

Scarlet (new)14By the way, I just have to add that Torties with extreme torti-tude are really not so bad, they are mostly just misunderstood. There are special people out there who totally “get” torties… who love them, can befriend them and live very happily with them. We know there is someone out there like that for Scarlett.

Time to get back to work, we never know what the next phone call is going to bring, but I will be here on the front lines to report it all to you!

Purrcy over and out until next time.

About colvillevalleyanimalsanctuary

The Colville Valley Animal Sanctuary is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to the rescue and rehabilitation of abandoned, neglected, and otherwise homeless companion animals. We provide both crisis and long-term sheltering, medical care, fostering, and adoption services - all with the goal of placing our animals permanently in safe and loving homes. We spay and neuter all of the animals in our care and actively promote, through financial donations and community support, the effort to reduce the number of unwanted animals in Stevens County. By example and through education, we promote and advance the values of responsible pet ownership and the humane treatment of animals.
This entry was posted in Purrcy's Sunday Scoop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

