Purrcy’s Sunday Scoop – Purrcy’s Auto-Biography

purrrcy1Good Morning and Welcome to Purrcy’s Sunday Scoop…. Today I thought I would share with you my Auto-Biography since I am becoming quite the celebrity at the Sanctuary, it is only fitting that I tell you how and when I came to live here.

I can’t tell you where I was born or when because I just do not remember, however I do remember being a very darling kitten and I know it will be no surprise when I tell you that I was the cutest in the litter.

I mostly remember growing up with a very large colony of cats – about 70 of us – we lived on a rural property with a house-trailer and I remember that in the beginning we did have someone feeding us occasionally.

My clearest memories are as a young adult, I was still living with my colony but things had changed and some of the cats had died because we were starving and many cats became ill. Unfortunately the person feeding us had suddenly left the property and never came back.  I remember being so hungry, so thin and so cold – always so cold and no place to get warm.

One day in November of 2013, I remember seeing a car coming onto the property and driving up to the trailer.  A small human got out carrying a huge bag.  She started calling, “ here kitty, kitty, kitty “.  All the cats ran and hid because we had been alone for such a long time and they were frightened. But I did not run and hide because I knew I was going to die if I did not get some food. I did not want her to leave without me so I fell down right across her feet – yes I really did fall onto her feet!

She gently picked me up, took me to the car and put me into a crate with a warm blanket – oh that felt so good!  She then started filling bowls with food and setting out live traps to try and catch the rest of my colony. I learned my saviour’s name was Nancy, she had gotten a call at the Sanctuary from someone living near the property where my colony lived to see if she could help a huge colony of cats that had been abandoned. Nancy did not stop going back to the property until every cat was caught.

When we arrived at the Sanctuary we were placed in a building called the Puppy Cabin. I overheard Nancy explaining to the volunteers that each cat from my colony had to be quarantined in the Puppy Cabin to prevent the spread of infectious disease – should any of us be infected – to the 100 cats and kittens that were already living at the Sanctuary. We would be watched closely for signs of illness, well fed and treated with medications if needed.

11148739_823877204362251_4493617593391145501_n

I was nothing but skin and bones. This was taken AFTER I had already gained some weight back!

True to it’s name, the Puppy Cabin was full of puppies –  noisy little puppies – however we all got along just fine. I was placed in a large kennel with lots of warm blankets for bedding. I even had my own sweater to wear because staying warm was difficult for me being so thin and weak. It was several weeks before I was able to generate enough heat on my own to stay warm enough so I no longer needed to wear my red sweater. I wish I had a picture of me in my sweater because red is my color – the first picture of me is when I was let out of my kennel to walk around and get exercise. I still looked thin and rough around the edges but I certainly was fatter than when I was first rescued.

This is me, still thin but gaining weight and getting stronger every day.

This is me, still thin but gaining weight and getting stronger every day.

This is Linda the nice lady who took my feral brethren to her property where they could live a good life as ferals.

This is Linda the nice lady who took my feral brethren to her property where they could live a good life as ferals.

As my colony brethren continued to improve and were evaluated, it became apparent that most of them were more on the wild side which was going to make it very difficult for the Sanctuary to find homes for them. Linda, one of the volunteers who was helping with our care, asked that she be able to take all of the feral cats from my colony to her home (after they were all spayed and neutered).  She had many large areas on her property where they could live a safe and happy life and she would have time to work with them and help to lessen their fear of people. I was kept at the Sanctuary because I had such a sweet and loveable personality and would certainly not have trouble finding a home.

I slowly gained weight and settled into the main Sanctuary cat kennel. I met new friends – feline as well as the volunteers – and I became truly happy because for the first time that I can remember, I felt like I was loved and belonged to a real family. It took several months for me to reach my proper weight and to once again become the beautiful black cat that I am. During the time that I was living in a kennel, I was plagued with horrible nightmares of my food dish being empty. I would wake with a start, but then my fears were put to rest when I would see all that wonderful dry kibble adorning my bowl.

10378010_823879334362038_706582039532992657_n

My dream bowl –yum =^..^=

It soon became apparent that I was not a cat to stay in a kennel while waiting for adoption – NO WAY! I was destined to roam free in the shelter and help the volunteers and especially help Becca. I could feel my importance growing, but all that came to a sudden end when one day a very nice gentleman came to the shelter to adopt me.
“OH NO” I thought, “how can they do this to me? I am MEANT to be here! ”

They put me in a crate and off I went, complaining all the way but no one would listen! When at last I arrived at my new home I just hid under the bed. I was NEVER going to come out, but I did get hungry  Sooooo…. to the food bowl I went.

I knew I had to get back to the Sanctuary but I did not know the way so I could not walk. I needed to devise a cunning plan so he would take me back. Then it came to me – I would be a very naughty boy – I stopped using my litter box!!!!! I would go Everywhere but the litter box!!!!  I did feel a bit of remorse for my bad behavior because this was truly a kind man and he felt so bad bringing me back but it had to be done – I had to get back to were I belonged.

This is Erica, I am supervising as she fills the food bowls…it’s an extremely important job and she is very good at it, thanks to my training.

11391265_823881327695172_3884980758060586951_n

Back where I belong!

Upon my arrival back at the Sanctuary I immediately rushed to Becca’s desk and took my position on the file drawer. They realized right away that my real Home is at the Sanctuary where I can direct the volunteers with the filling of the food dishes and help Becca with the filing and the hundreds of other jobs that only I am skilled enough to handle. In the next picture you will see that I am now teaching Becca to type with her right hand only, so she can give me belly rubs with her left.

Becca is such a faster learner!

Becca is such a faster learner!

You now know my story and how my life was saved. I wish that no animal would ever have to go through the fear of abandonment, I know only too well the terror of that feeling. Thank goodness there are wonderful humans out there ready and willing to help animals in need and now that I basically run the Sanctuary, I can help them too!

Have a wonderful Summer Sunday…..Purrcy Out!

P.S. Apparently I have been spelling my name wrong all this time, Teresa our webmistress told me a few days ago that it is PuRRcy not PurCCy the way I have been writing it.  Of course I KNEW that, I was just checking to make sure everyone was on their toes.  =^..^=

About colvillevalleyanimalsanctuary

The Colville Valley Animal Sanctuary is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to the rescue and rehabilitation of abandoned, neglected, and otherwise homeless companion animals. We provide both crisis and long-term sheltering, medical care, fostering, and adoption services - all with the goal of placing our animals permanently in safe and loving homes. We spay and neuter all of the animals in our care and actively promote, through financial donations and community support, the effort to reduce the number of unwanted animals in Stevens County. By example and through education, we promote and advance the values of responsible pet ownership and the humane treatment of animals.
This entry was posted in Purcy's Sunday Scoop and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

