A Tale of Three Tabbies and One Big Orange Cat, Part VI

Max feeling right at home and following Lisa everywhere she goes.

Max feeling right at home and following Lisa everywhere she goes.

A few evenings ago, while out on a walk with MamaDog, I caught a glimpse of a tabby cat lying in the tall grass not far from my house.  She lay still for a moment, then disappeared.  Could it be Gracie or Chloe?  I’m betting it was.

The next day, a neighbor mentioned that he had seen a tabby cat wandering along the road, and that it did not look well.  At this point, I became concerned, having closed up the barn a week and a half ago with Max and Hannah inside.  If Gracie and Chloe are in the vicinity, I want them to be able to get to food and water.

This morning, I was left with no doubt that at least one of the two was trying to get home when I spotted a tabby cat in the grass next to my propane tank.

It was a difficult decision, but I decided to take a chance and open the barn back up.  I’m trusting that Max is ready, even though he’s been here only a week and a half.  Hannah has had a total of eight weeks in the barn and has already experienced the outdoors once and returned.  I’m acting on faith, but I don’t know what else to do.

max4I opened the plastic slider on the cat door this morning, and Max, who by now follows me around everywhere, wasted no time in joining me outside.  Interestingly, he was methodical and cautious.  Having poked his head out to look both left and right, he slowly made his way through the door, ready to retreat at any sign of trouble.

max5  He sniffed around the door jamb, explored the intricacies of the threshold, then slowly walked the perimeter of the barn taking note of every detail.  He then followed me up toward the house and the edge of the forest, where he became bolder and more curious.  I decided to leave him alone to explore.

max6max7In the meantime, I went back to the barn to see whether Hannah had discovered the open cat door.  I found her sitting proudly outside the barn, enjoying the sunshine but ready to make a dash inside at a moment’s notice.

hannah1max8maxandhannahA few hours later, I went out to the barn again and found Max lounging on the floor.  I was jubilant, knowing that everything was going exactly as planned.
~By Lisa. G

About colvillevalleyanimalsanctuary

The Colville Valley Animal Sanctuary is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to the rescue and rehabilitation of abandoned, neglected, and otherwise homeless companion animals. We provide both crisis and long-term sheltering, medical care, fostering, and adoption services - all with the goal of placing our animals permanently in safe and loving homes. We spay and neuter all of the animals in our care and actively promote, through financial donations and community support, the effort to reduce the number of unwanted animals in Stevens County. By example and through education, we promote and advance the values of responsible pet ownership and the humane treatment of animals.
This entry was posted in cats, rescue stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tale of Three Tabbies and One Big Orange Cat, Part VI

  1. IDEN says:

    Hey there, You have performed an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and in my view recommend to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this website.
    IDEN http://www.net-ict.be/

Leave a Reply

