A Tale of Three Tabbies (part 3)

Day 7

For all the effort that went into making a nice little haven for my barn kitties, two of them want nothing to do with it.  Gracie, who was the most curious and approachable of the three at the start, was freaked out by the flash of my camera and has disappeared together with Chloe into the nether regions of the barn.  Only Hannah remains up top in the hay loft, where she lounges in whichever apple box or laundry basket suits her that day.  So long as I don’t try to approach her, Hannah seems unruffled by my presence and watches with interest as I move about the hay loft tidying things up.

Brave Hannah

Brave Hannah

I realize I’ve made a mistake in attempting to socialize the cats so soon.  They need time to feel safe in their new surroundings, and my attempts to coax them out of their hiding places has been counterproductive at best.  So for now I’m going to be leaving them alone except for my morning visit to clean their litterbox and to replenish their food and water.  There will be time to win them over.

Gracie hiding in the wall, letting me know that as much as I'd like to be-friend her, she needs her space.

Gracie hiding in the wall, letting me know that as much as I’d like to be-friend her, she needs her space.

Day 10

All three kitties are spending time in the hayloft now, although I have yet to catch more than a passing glimpse of the two more elusive ones since they disappeared into the wall.  Every time I approach the barn, I hear the frantic patter of little feet scurrying down the ramp–proof positive that all three are becoming comfortable upstairs–at least when I’m not around.

Several times, when I’ve been working in the garden, I’ve looked up to see three curious little faces peering down at me from above through the cut-out in the wall.  Hopefully they’re becoming familiar with the sights and sounds of the pasture, so that when they are allowed to venture out in another three weeks, they’ll know the property as their own.

To be continued…

Lisa G.

About colvillevalleyanimalsanctuary

The Colville Valley Animal Sanctuary is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to the rescue and rehabilitation of abandoned, neglected, and otherwise homeless companion animals. We provide both crisis and long-term sheltering, medical care, fostering, and adoption services - all with the goal of placing our animals permanently in safe and loving homes. We spay and neuter all of the animals in our care and actively promote, through financial donations and community support, the effort to reduce the number of unwanted animals in Stevens County. By example and through education, we promote and advance the values of responsible pet ownership and the humane treatment of animals.
This entry was posted in cats, sanctuary stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

